The Greatest Coach Ever: My Mom

When we start naming the greatest coaches of all time, we have to include Lombardi, Wooden, Durocher, and Auerbach. They were masters of the gridiron, the diamond, and the hardcourt, guiding their charges to numerous championships.

My pick for greatest coach, however, never won a ring, never diagramed a play, and was never carried off the field in victory. To my knowledge, she never blew a whistle, couldn’t teach a curveball or a jump shot, and definitely never cursed in my presence. Yet she was the epitome of a coach: part encourager, part disciplinarian, and always a motivator.

Mom never missed a game. Whether it was a cold drizzly April baseball game or a treacherous snowy drive in January for basketball, she was always there. She endured inning upon inning and quarter upon quarter watching from aluminum stands and hard wooden bleachers. And I was no star, or often even a starter. Mom was there nonetheless, waiting for that moment when I got in the game.

She cheered the home runs and swishes which were few and far between. She consoled the strikeouts and misses which were far too common. Even if I wasn’t the greatest on the field, I was to her and that’s all that mattered.

Mom passed from this world in 2008, leaving a void that can never be filled. Never again will I know the adulation of my greatest fan and my greatest coach. Mom “retired” with only one victory: me. It was hard-earned and required a lifetime of dedication. That victory is more precious than any Super Bowl or World Series. It is her legacy in me. I never knew what I was capable of until my mom taught me. Ask any great coach. They’ll tell you that’s the whole point of the games.

So here’s to you, Coach. Thanks for all you taught me and for never wavering in your confidence. I’m thinking if you this Mother’s Day and everyday.

About Chuck Chapman

I'm a professional writer who mainly specializes in sports. I have two NFL sites that are part of the Sports Media 101 network, Bengals 101 and Colts 101. If you've found my on WordPress, then you're either reading about families and relationships on So, We're Not the Huxtables, or you've found my daughter's "Princess Kate Stories." She's an imaginative little girl who just loves to tell stories. She sees her daddy writing every day and wanted her own blog where she can share her vivid imagination. We both hope our readers enjoy our work. We certainly do. Feel free to take the time to introduce yourself, leave a comment, or even subscribe to get regular updates. Thanks for reading.
This entry was posted in Coaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

